About Nasreddin


About Nasreddin

“Hodja” is the official title bestowed upon Nasreddin; it is not his last name at all. In fact, “hodja” rather resembles the English word “scholar”. Islamic imam (prayer leaders) bear the title of “hodja” as well. By the way, the spelling is borrowed from the English language. In Turkish, the title is spelled “hoca”.
Similar to the German Till Eulenspiegel, Nasreddin Hodja is the hero of various humorous tales of the Islamic region. Assumedly, he lived during the 13th / 14th century in Akşehir. Until today, you can find his mausoleum there, and it’s definitely worth the visit.
Witty and wise: these traits best describe both his character and his stories. You will frequently find a profound meaning, a ‘moral’ of his tales. For example, Nasreddin would tell you not to listen to everything other people have to say but rather to form your own opinion. And sometimes, his naïvety leads to hilarious situations. Put simply: an adorable person.

Nasreddin’s most well-known stories:

For more information, click here:

Wikipedia

Unser Hodja


Über Nasreddin

Das Wort “Hodja” ist der Titel der Nasreddin trägt und ist keinesfalls sein Nachname. Viel mehr gleicht “hodja” dem deutschen Wort für “Lehrer”. Auch islamische Imame (Vorbeter) tragen den Titel “hodja”. Übrigens ist die Schreibweise aus dem Englischen entliehen. Auf türkisch wird es “hoca” geschrieben.

Nasreddin Hodja ist, ähnlich Till Eulenspiegel, der Held humoristischer Geschichten aus dem islamischen Raum. Es wird angenommen, dass er im 13./14. Jahrhundert in Akşehir gelebt hat. Bis heute steht sein Mausoleum dort und ist jedes Mal ein Besuch wert.

Witzig und intelligent: das sind die beiden Eigenschaften, die seine Geschichten und seinen Charakter beschreiben. Oftmals liegt in den Erzählungen ein tieferer Sinn, sozusagen eine Moral von der Geschicht’. Beispielsweise soll man nicht auf alles hören, was andere meinen und sich eher eine eigene Meinung bilden. Und manchmal kommt er durch seine Einfaltigkeit in witzige Situationen. Eine liebenswerte Person eben.

Seine bekanntesten Geschichten:

Mehr Infos gibt es auf:

Wikipedia